The Social Sciences in Ireland

Status, Challenges, and Prospects

Various Speakers

Renehan Hall, South Campus, NUI Maynooth 09:45 :: 2nd October 2014

  • 9.45 onwards - Registration (Tea/Coffee on arrival)

  • 10.10 - Welcome and overview Professor Philip Nolan, President Maynooth University and Professor Mark Boyle, Maynooth University

PRTLI 4 and the ISSP: The Legacy. Chair: Dr. Carmel Hannan, University Limerick

  • 10.30 - PRTLI 4 and the ISSP: A brief history. Professor Rob Kitchin, Maynooth University and former Chair ISSP [slides] [video]

  • 10.50 - The principal innovations and legacies Professor Fred Powell, University College Cork [slides] [video]

  • 11.10 - Building data infrastructures Dr. Jane Gray, Maynooth University [slides] [video]

  • 11.30 - Investing in people biographical accounts by Dr. Clive Earls, University Limerick/Maynooth University [slides] [video]; Dr. Trish Morgan, Dublin City University/Maynooth University [slides] [video]; and Dr. Majella Giblin, NUI Galway/Trinity College Dublin [slides] [video]

  • 12.00 - Lunch

IRC led Workshop: Horizon 2020 – Creating opportunities for Social Scientists

  • 1.00 - Shaping Horizon 2020: An interactive workshop led by Mr. Paul Kilkenny, Irish Research Council [slides] and Dr. Allen White, University College Cork [video]

  • 2.50 - Tea/Coffee

Prospects for the Social Sciences in Ireland. Chair: Professor Richard Layte, Trinity College Dublin

  • 3.05 - Introduction: Professor Bernard Mahon, Maynooth University and Address by the Minister for Skills, Research, and Education, Damien English TD [video]

  • 3.20 - Social Science research in Ireland: The view from the Irish Research Council. Dr. Eucharia Meehan, Director Irish Research Council [slides] [video]

  • 3.35 - Collaborating for success? The Irish Social Sciences Platform. Dr. Linda Connolly, University College Cork, and Chair ISSP [video]

Panel Discussion - Prospects for the Social Sciences in Ireland. Chair: Professor Pat O’Connor, University Limerck

  • 3.50 - Panelists: Dr. James Cunningham, NUI Galway; Dr. Carmel Hannan, University Limerick; Dr. Perry Share, Sligo IT; Professor Seán Ó Riain, Maynooth University; Professor Caroline Fennell, University College Cork; Professor Sally Shortall, Queen‘s University Belfast [slides]; and Professor Colin Scott, University College Dublin

  • 5.10 Close

All Welcome

ISSP Sponsors: